Army Strong, No Matter What!!

1235370_689776027703831_2091485384_n1404756_542722256139_1622316859_o

“Charlie Rock”

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 8.07.20 AM

Wolfpack.

When you think about the military what comes to mind? Myself, being a Marine, I think of honor, courage, and commitment. I think of self-sacrifice, motivation and self-sufficient.

This past week has been an up hill battle for my brother. He and many others struggled to make it through basic training for the Army, just to be let down and not even given gratitude and a congratulations from the base commander at Fort Jackson SC. Is this what the “new Army” has come too. “Here is your certificate now get out”. I think the only congrats that I observed was from the Facebook Volunteers. They are the only ones that kept us, family members updated on the progress, and developments of our loved ones. I give thanks and praise to them. Yes the weather was horrible but everyone that was there to pick up their loved ones for “Family Day” was there to see them graduate the day after, only to be told sorry it’s been canceled. It amazed me to see everyone standing outside waiting for their soldiers to come out both on family day and the morning of graduation. Even though they canceled all the ceremonies the least they could have done was marched them all out and congratulated them and dismissed them as Soldiers of the United States Army. They were unable to show any of the streamers they won, nothing to show for their hard work . I would have rather not been there and missed it then to have been there and seen the look on my brothers face when I told him it was canceled.

That morning at pick up, the roads where so much better than when we picked him up the day prior for family day.. What were they thinking!!

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 8.10.59 AMPick Up for “Family Day” 2-12-14

Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 12.39.07 PM

Families waiting to pick up Soldiers. Instead of Graduation..

2-13-2014

IMG_3321

PVT Dockins, with Certificate in hand.

Let me just say that this is a once in a lifetime changing moment for these men and women and even though they all shrugged it off and wanted to get the hell out of there, they all were torn up inside. I know personally that if I was told I wasn’t going to get the recognition of becoming a Marine my heart would have broken and my spirit would have been shattered. To my brother, I wish there was something I could have done to fill that void, and even though we all were there, I know that doesn’t change things. I’m so very proud of you and I know that the Army has gained one more great soldier. To all the other fellow newly graduated members from 2nd Battalion, 60th Infantry Regiment, A-F companies, good luck and I hope that one day you will be able to see that you are all heroes and deserve to be called as such.. OOOORAH!!!   oops.. LOL..  HOOOAH!!..  Sorry once a Marine Always a Marine.. 🙂

GOOD LUCK, AND  GOD BLESS…

LOVE YOU CHARLIE.

CO1 copy

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 1.08.03 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 8.15.45 AM

“Scouts OUT”

Leave a Reply

