Home and Feeling Relaxed!!!!!

It’s Sunday the 28th of June and I have been back from Arkansas for about three days now. Julia and Michelle are still with their grandparents. My trip was a good one, long but enjoyable. It was nice to see everyone and even though I wasn’t able to stay very long the time that I did have was great. I had forgotten how hot Arkansas was until I crossed the TN/AR state line and was bombarded by the unbearable heat. Even though the weather was crazy,

HomeI was still able to get some good shots while I was home, venturing out only in the mornings and evenings to shoot. I grew up in this house that my parents still live in. It has it’s problems but they seem to manage just fine. I can remember during the winters, my bedroom had no ceiling in it at the time, so no insulation either. I would sit a cup of water on my night stand before going to bed and waking up the next morning to find it frozen solid. In the summers we worried about scorpions and snakes and even other types of creatures getting into the house. I had plastic that was stapled to the rafters of the ceiling and I could lay in bed at night and here the bugs and lizards crawling right above me. I sounds horrible but I was used to it we all were. We managed fairly well and of course us kids complained just like everyone else.

Back of the House

Back of the House

Flowers In Front Of House

Flowers In Front Of House

The town that I grew up in has changed, they have a new high school, Subway, grocery store and they are now putting in a couple of stop lights in the middle of town. The saw mill is still up and running, without it Mansfield would turn into a ghost town for sure. I took a day before coming back to NC to take some photos of Fort Smith, Judge Parkers courthouse and the gallows.

285_cherokee_bill_gallows.

The Gallows

The Gallows

Judge Parkers Court House

Judge Parkers Court House

Here are a few more interesting photos that I like

Family in front yard

Family in front yard

Flower with Fisheye

Flower with Fisheye

Sitting at Diane's House

Sitting at Diane's House

Mom and Dads

Mom and Dads

Immaculate Conception of Fort Smith

Immaculate Conception of Fort Smith

IC of Fort Smith

IC of Fort Smith

It was nice to get back on the road and head home though. It was a little wierd because it was so quite. I had no one to talk to and no one asking are we there yet or I have to go to the bathroom. I made it into Nashville and stopped for awhile to take some more photos. Here are some of those.

Parthenon, Nashville TN

Parthenon, Nashville TN

IMG_0089

IMG_0086

IMG_0090

Walking the Dog

Walking the Dog

As you can see in the distance there is someone walking their dog. This just gives you an idea of how big this thing is. It’s nice to be back home. I’m relaxing today and enjoying some quite time. I went to church this morning and I feel refreshed. Had a great weekend and I have changed my way of thinking for the time being. I have decided to just have fun, live each day like it was my last.

Life is very fragile and if you don’t have fun, take chances, and enjoy it it will be gone before you know it.

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”

Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

