3 Weeks and Counting…..

Well I have about 3 weeks until me and the girls leave for Arkansas. I have so much to do before we leave it seems so overwhelming. My psych class is in constant need of attention. I have two papers, plus DB questions and tests to accomplish. My girls get out of school on the 10th and my schedule up until than is packed full of to do lists. From class to parties to meeting with lawyers and preparing for Michelle’s birthday, this is just the tip of the iceberg. I will be so glad when we can get on the road and just get out of here. The drive will be long but I’m really looking forward to getting on the road and stopping here and there to take photographs. I need to figure some things and enjoy my family as well. I will be bringing my Holga and can’t wait to start shooting once I get there. Although we will be stopping along our 18 hour trip to shoot as well. Yes 18 hours… I have done it plenty of times and know the route like the back of my hand.

street1Mansfield is a small town that survives on the local Lumber Mill, and if it goes under Mansfield will become a ghost town. I grew up in this town and it has changed so much in the past 10 years. Some of the original buildings are still standing but most of them are gone. I can remember walking down this street to Don’s Drugs with my class while in elementary. We would all hold hands and walk to the store to get a scoop of ice cream during the summer. This was our so called field trips back then. I believe that Don is still in business but I’m not sure. I think I will take the girls to get some ice cream there if he is.The way this town looks early in the morning is great for shots with the Holga, I can’t wait. I’m going to stock up on film, and just take the Holga and my digital. That’s it, nothing more nothing less. This will keep me pretty busy in Arkansas and my trip back through Nashville.

I will probably update my blog the day or two before I head out and will post as much as I can afterward. I’m not sure how much internet I will be able to get while staying with family. We live in the backwoods so who knows. Here are some old photos of Mansfield from way back when.

007

Old Train Depot (Now Gone)

008This was the old bank and it sat on the right hand corner as you came into downtown. It is now gone replace with a park… 😦

More to come…

Leave a Reply

