Finding Faith…..& Peace of Mind

prayerI find myself asking more questions and trying so desperately to find the answers. The basic questions of life. You know, the whys and what ifs’. My journey to a better life is not so much coming to an end but it’s just the beginning. April 11th Easter Vigil, me and the girls will be Baptized into the Catholic faith. We have already found a home within the church, accepted by many that I now call my extended family. I (we) will continue to build our faith and strength with God with each passing day. Though I strive for the patience with my kids, for the guidance in times when I feel so alone, for the comfort and peace of mind when everything around me does not go as planned, I can say that this is the path that God has chosen for me. Living each day as it comes and accept what is and isn’t.

mary Friday night was The Stations of the Cross through Mary’s eyes. I’ve never really thought about the life of Jesus and him dying and the resurrection through his/our mother. We (RICA class) sponsored this weeks Stations and while some walked to each station three of us including myself read aloud five stations each. I had the last five which were Jesus is Nailed to the Cross, Jesus Dies on the Cross, Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross, Jesus is Laid in the Tomb, and Jesus is Raised from the Dead. This all in itself was so emotional, that I got choked up but pulled through to the finish. I was greeted afterward by so many people of how well I had done with the readings. Father Don approached and asked if I wanted to read during mass on some occasions since I did such a great job. Of course I said yes, but I was so nervous talking in front of so many people, I must of hid it pretty well. It was a moving experience and I was blessed to feel a since of belonging.

It’s been a good weekend so far, I took the girls out to eat and then to the movies on Saturday. Spent the whole day shopping and returned home for a great dinner and yet another movie that I haven’t seen in many years (My Girl). Of course I cried right along with them at the end. I attempted to clean, but didn’t get very far. I have changed my mind about Memphis in May it is definitely out of the question, being that I can’t afford two trips in a two month span. However, I have recently found a couple of art galleries in Nashville that I want to go to in June. So my plan now is to stay in downtown Nashville on my way back through from visiting with family and friends. This should be a great artistic break since I missed out on Dallas SPE this year.

cvv_gallery1

What really is exciting is that I found a permanent original collection at the The Carl Van Vechten Gallery (Fisk University), of Alfred Stieglitz, with Georgia O’Keeffe, Renoir, Cezanne, Picasso, Toulouse-Latrec, and much more .

Also Nashville has a full sized replica of the Parthenon with house a full sized replica of Athena. This will probably be as close as I can get to Greece. I can’t wait, food, fun, the night life. You have no idea how excited I am.

parthenon-shot

162983185_ace633e9e3

Cathy and Patrick are back from the conference in Dallas and I can’t wait to hear all the wild and crazy stories that always accompany the SPE conferences. It turned out to be a beautiful day today (Sunday). I might take the girls and go out for the sunset on the beach, who knows. Either way it has been a good weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

