Feeling Rundown………….

100_2865 It’s Super Bowl Sunday and I’m sitting at the coffee shop getting my Internet fix as usual. This has been a hectic weekend to say the least. I have no plans for the evening so I have decided to take the girls to MacDaddy’s for dinner, games and some football. Football for me of course, I’m not into the whole gaming thing.

I received my test scores from the Praxis on Friday, not sure if I’m headed in the right direction. My scores aren’t that good. I’m not a great test taker. I was stressing about it and decided to not think about it until Monday because there really wasn’t anything I could do until then. Friday night was nice and quite, warm, and relaxing. By Saturday we were up and on the move to a pool party which wore me out. We left the party at 3:30 and made it to Jasmins (girls friend) by 4:30. I than came home and sat back and had some wine and cheese. I went next door and had some pizza and some more drinks with my neighbors and made it back home at around 11. I was so tired and just not feeling myself for some reason and I couldn’t fall asleep at all, but when I finally did the phone rang and it was Julia crying.

100_2607Julia was born on September 21, 1998. Since than she has been in and out of the hospital on numerous occasions. When she was 3 months old she had to undergo surgery in Chapel Hill for a hernia that was attached to her ovaries. Before they diagnosed it was a hernia she had to go through so many tests. Her dad and I were told that she could have possibly been a boy because it could have been an undescended testicle. You could have only imagined what I was thinking. (Quack Doctors)

She had so many problems with UTI’s and had to go through painful blood tests and kidney test that are so painful that they had to strap her down to keep her from moving. I be live she was around five when she started having these problems. She overcame these obstacles and we started to think positive .

September 21, 2006, she just turned eight years old and was on her way. Halloween was around the corner and she was getting all excited. Than she came down with an infection which was nothing to worry about and it was very treatable. So her dad took her to the doctor that day. I’m sitting at home and I get a phone call and it’s Tim and he is upset and tells me that Julia has been diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and she has to be rushed to Greenville to be admitted ASAP. I couldn’ t think much less talk, so I packed up some bags and Michelle and headed to the Naval Hospital.

100_0415 I was still in school and Michelle was in school as well. My marriage was on the rocks and now I have this on top of everything else in my life. We make it to the hospital and Julia looks terrible, Tim looks terrible obviously. We sat there for about three hours running tests after tests. The doctors were setting up appointments and getting her admitted to ECU Peds unit in Greenville. It tore me apart but I stayed back with Michelle and made sure she made it to school and home, while Tim rode up in the ambulance to Greenville. She was admitted and had to stay for about a week. Everyone had to be trained on the medicine procedures, nutritional aspects and so much more.

It’s now 2009 and Julia will be 11 years old this year. She has had her ups and down with this disease and it breaks my heart to see her so frustrated when it comes to the whole thing. So I had to rush her to the hospital early this morning around 2:30 and I knew what was wrong. Again another infection which was very common with having Type 1 diabetes. She was so uncomfortable and we were all tired and fell asleep in the ER. We got everything under control and made it home by 6:30. We crashed as soon as we came through the door, got up around 8:30 went to church came back home and I fell asleep again. The girls on the other had felt great and played outside all day. It’s now 6:11 and we are about to head out to watch the Super Bowl.  It’s been a tough weekend and I just hope that it will get better soon, I’m so run down and tired of all the mishaps and bumps in the road. I’m trying as hard as I can to make what I have worth all the pain, and anxiety. I have a lot to be thankful for though, and even if things get rough I have great support. I found out last night that one of my best friends is coming back into town in a couple of weeks. Laura will be back ,  I can’t wait. 100_1530

One thought on “Feeling Rundown………….

  1. pjhill05 says:

    Hello Shannon!

    I know what you mean about being rundown! And the fact that you are growing closer to God at this time is the best thing you can do right now! There are times where I have been so busy with school, work, etc. that when I am not in agreement with what God is trying to tell me it is like everything just falls apart. And life gets us so So keep this bit of scripture in mind when you are feeling rundown:

    But Christ as a son over his own house; whose house are we, if we hold fast the confidence and the rejoicing of the hope firm unto the end. Hebrews 3:6 (KJV)

    So don’t let the test scores or even life for that matter get you down! God is in control! Remember: this too shall pass!

    God bless!

    Pre-Ah

Leave a Reply

